Story of a Mousetrap

This story was sent to me this morning and it deserves to be shared here…

A mouse looked through the crack in the wall 
to see the farmer and his wife open a package.
“What food might this contain?”,
the mouse wondered.
He was devastated to discover it was a mousetrap.

Retreating to the farmyard,
 
the mouse proclaimed this warning
:
“There is a mousetrap in the house! 
There is a mousetrap in the house!”
 
The chicken clucked and scratched,
 
raised her head and said, “Mr. Mouse,
 
I can tell this is a grave concern to you,
 
but it is of no consequence to me.
 
I cannot be bothered by it.”

The mouse turned to the pig and told him,
 
“There is a mousetrap in the house!
 
There is a mousetrap in the house!”
 
The pig sympathized, but said,
 
“I am so very sorry, Mr. Mouse,
 
but there is nothing I can do
about it but pray…
 
Be assured you are in my prayers.”


The mouse turned to the cow and said,
 
“There is a mousetrap in the house!
 
There is a mousetrap in the house!”
 
The cow said, “Wow, Mr. Mouse. I’m sorry for you,
but it’s no skin off my nose.”

So, the mouse returned to the house, 
head down and dejected,
 
to face the farmer’s mousetrap
 
. . . Alone. . .
 
That very night 
a sound was heard throughout the house
 
— the sound
 ofa mousetrap catching its prey. 
The farmer’s wife rushed to see what was caught.
In the darkness, she did not see it.
 
It was a venomous snake
 
whose tail was caught in the trap.
 
The snake bit the farmer’s wife.
  The farmer rushed her to the hospital.   
When she returned home she still had a fever.
 
Everyone knows you treat a fever
 
with fresh chicken soup.
 
So the farmer took his hatchet to the farmyard
for the soup’s main ingredient:
 
But his wife’s sickness continued.
 
Friends and neighbours
 came to sit  with her 
around the clock.
   To feed them, the farmer butchered the pig. 
  
But, alas, the farmer’s wife did not get well…
She died.
 
 
So many people came for her funeral
 
that the farmer had the cow slaughtered
 
to provide enough meat for all of them
 
for the funeral luncheon.
 
And the mouse looked upon it all
 
from his crack in the wall
 
with great sadness.
 
So, the next time you hear
 
someone is facing a problem
 
and you think it doesn’t concern you,
 
remember —
 
When one of us is threatened, we are all at risk.
We are all involved in this journey called life.
We must keep an eye out for one another
 
and make an extra effort
 
to encourage one another.

3 comments

  1. Mandy.

    What sadden us most at ASC were our very learned Chancellor & Treasurer, Synod + Standing Committee members saw fit to turn a blind eye. Their numbness reaction toward misdeeds & lack of accountability has encouraged BAV to continues his arrogance, greed, rising denial syndromes, misdeeds, abuses and etc etc.
    All of these learned gentlemen are more interested with position, demanding and commanding respect then serving the Church.
    Many of these epidemic ills could have been nip in the bud and addressed by our learned people who has been entrusted with position to look into the best interest of ASC & ADOS.
    To our learned Chancellor, Standing Committee Members, Synod Members and Diocesan treasurer you are also as guilty as BAV.
    As a responsible Anglican can we allowed things to go on this way forever, can ASC & ADOS afford to do so ?
    How many of our prime properties/lands do we need to sell to cover the big holes plus the maintenance of Kokol Retreat Center, the huge deficits accounts at ASC, Tawau Vision Schools, sending big teams to overseas mission trips, Academies throughout Sabah & P.Jaya,
    Since those who has been entrusted with position did not do the rightful, we as children of God of ASC & ADOS will have no alternative but to keep an eye for one another to save ADOS & ASC from some ludicrous spiritual leaders.

  2. Mind my own business.

    I mind my own business! Do I love God? Yes, I have a personal relationship with Jesus. He gave me a family and all I need.

    Do I love the ASC? Yes, a little previously. Children were helped by the Sunday School. Aged lonely mother enjoyed the senior citizen gathering. Met a few useful business friends and contacts.

    Now I do not attend the lifeless church except once in a while due to curiosity. The church serves no spiritual purpose. I do not want to relate with a messy organization where the leaders are crooked, no integrity, principle or truth. Who cares this church is in debt? No my business! But mixing with the people, my anger for injustice will cause my blood pressure to shoot up v high.

    I am definitely not my brother’s keeper. Zoo keeper can tame a fierce lion. Who can tame Bishop Vun? I heard rumor that family are divided because of the crisis. How sad! I just want to keep my family away from harm. This is my selfish and honest feeling.

Leave a comment